My Friend

This was a poem i wrote long ago, but lost it somewhere in the archives. So just reposting it here…

“My Friend”
Alone and frightened, I shall come searching for you,
My friend,
Blind and hungry, I’ll come knocking at your doors,
My friend.
When the merciless world has shirked itself away from me,
Sons that left me alone in the raging fire,
Of forgotten vows that traitored me alone at the end,
And of friends selfish that wont spare a smile,
And a lonely self that just lies helpless…

When all that remains is an urn of ash,
When the body has lost all its sense of mortal existence,
In the end when all that remains of life is a misled hope.
Stripped of the riches and the earthly ties,
When all the thoughts and acts are only a memory.

In those times, dark and unnerving,
I shall come in search of a true friend,
Who promised to walk with me all along,
Into a new life that started lifeless.

With a cosmic blaze so dazzling with life,
Shall engulf me into an immortal embrace.
Like a mother that tends carefully to its hurted child,
As a true lover that stays by me all along.

In the last odyssey of my life,
When all the friends and foes are the same,
And with a promise to be my only succour,
In this shameless world that left me lifeless.

As a man of honor stay true to it, my friend,
Keep up the bargain and let me stay,
Promise this to me and I promise, I’ll welcome you when,
When you come knocking, searching for me,

Death, my friend…

–Copyright © “20th May, 2004” by “Poorna Shashank K” —

3 thoughts on “My Friend

Leave a Reply

